top of page
Three Forths

How To Obtain Your
Real Estate License

NH Real Estate Licensing

Obtaining a real estate license in New Hampshire:

The basic steps to get your NH real estate salesperson license and become a real estate agent are:

  1. Be at least 18 years old and have a social security number.

  2. Take the 40 hour New Hampshire real estate course.

  3. Register to take the NH real estate test using your course completion certificate.

  4. Pass the New Hampshire real estate test.

  5. Affiliate with a NH Real Estate Brokerage.

  6. Send your application to the New Hampshire Real Estate Commission. With your application, you should also include the original exam score you received as well as the licensing fee. 

MA Real Estate Licensing

Obtaining a real estate license in Massachusetts:

The basic steps to get your MA real estate salesperson license and become a real estate agent are:

  1. Be at least 18 years old and have a social security number.

  2. Take the 40 hour Massachusetts real estate course. CE SHOP Pre-Licensing.

  3. Get a background check (CORI) - Determination of Good Moral Character Compliance for Initial Broker or Salesperson.

  4. Register to take the Massachusetts real estate test using your course completion certificate.

  5. Pass the Massachusetts real estate test. The national portion of the exam consists of 80 questions to be answered within 150 minutes. The state portion consists of 40 questions to be answered within 90 minutes. To pass, you will need a score of at least 70%. 

  6. Pay the license fee and receive your license.

ME Real Estate Licensing

Obtaining a real estate license in Maine:

The basic steps to get your ME real estate salesperson license and become a real estate agent.

  1. To become an agent in Maine you must be 18 years of age or older, have a high school diploma or GED, and legally be residing in the United States.

  2. The real estate requirements in Maine involve 55 hours of education to qualify for a license, as well as a grade of 75% or higher. Obtain the 55 hour class HERE.

  3. Pass the Pearson Vue Maine Real Estate Exam with a score of 75% or higher.

  4. Once you meet the administrative and educational requirements, you can apply to the Maine Real Estate Commission.

  5. Find a brokerage to sponsor you. Maine law requires you to find a brokerage to sponsor you when starting your career.

bottom of page